Spring Reading Recap

Spring Reading Recap.jpg

Hi friends,

I’m back today with another reading recap!  I enjoyed some really good books in April and May, so today I thought I’d share.

First Comes Love by Emily Griffin: I’m a big fan of Emily Griffin novels.  She seems to find a really good balance between lightheartedness and emotional.  This story follows two very different sisters, their relationship with each other, the life struggles they are going through, and how they are dealing with a tragic family accident that happened many years before.  The way I’m describing it probably makes it sound more sad than it is.  There’s a nice balance between emotional and funny, lighthearted moments.

Paris for One and Other Stories by Jojo Moyes:  This book would be perfect to take on a trip!  The first half of the book (about 150 pages) is a short story about a young woman who gets stood up by her boyfriend in Paris, but breaks out of her shell and makes the most of her trip!  The last half of the book is made up of several more short stories.  Typically, I’m not into short stories.   I usually feel like just as soon as I start to get into it, it’s over, but this book was pretty enjoyable.

The Widow by Fiona Barton: After a couple of lighthearted books, I went for something darker.  In a nutshell, the story is about a woman whose husband is accused of kidnapping and murdering a little girl.  The story is seen from multiple perspectives: The widow, the detective who follows the case, a reporter, the mom of the kidnapped girl.  The subject matter made me cringe, but I found myself reading on to find out how it all would end.

Startup: A Novel by Doree Shafir:  This was my Book of the Month pick for April.  At first, I found this book really hard to get into.  I started it before I read ‘Paris for One’ and ‘The Widow’ but only got through about 20 pages before putting it down for awhile.  I’m so happy I decided to give this one another try.  In the first few pages the tech lingo really frustrated me, but once I got through those first couple of chapters I found myself hooked on each character’s story and how they are all woven together.

The One and Only by Emily Griffin:  As much as I love Emily Griffin novels, this one was sadly not a big hit for me.  Listened to this one as an audiobook as I was painting our downstairs bathroom and driving to and from work.  I’ll admit that it kept me entertained in that regard, but I don’t know if I would have been able to just sit and read it from cover to cover.

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware: I’m currently on the wait list for “The Woman in Cabin 10” so while I was waiting (I’m still waiting . . .) for that one to come in I decided to listen (its another audiobook) to In a Dark, Dark Wood.  This book is great on many levels.  It’s laugh out loud funny at times, each character is interesting in their own right, and its all set in a who done it type of plot.  So good.

Currently I have ‘Into the Water,’ ‘And We’re Off,’ and ‘Since We Fell’ on my bookshelf.  What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

