January-March Books Roundup

Books.jpgHappy Saturday, friends! It’s been quite awhile since I’ve chatted about books here on the blog, so I thought today would be a good day to recap what I’ve been reading over last few months!  These posts are always a bit out of the norm for me as most of my ramblings here center around all things crafty, but since I always LOVE reading about what everyone else is reading, I thought I’d share what I’ve been reading too!

In January I decided to subscribe to the Book of the Month club (BOTM). I had been debating a subscription for so long, trying to figure out if I could justify the purchase, but in the end I decided to just give it a try.  I’m so happy I did.  One of the biggest selling points for me was that the company allows you to skip months, so if you don’t see a book you like you won’t get charged for that month.   I’m not an affiliate, just a fan ;).

Wildflower Hill by Kimberley Freeman: I picked this book up on a whim one afternoon while shopping at Target, and  I’m so happy I did!  I sailed through the pages in about a week.  It’s on the longer side for a novel, but it’s a really easy read.  I loved how this book spanned three generations.  In a brief summary, a 30-year-old woman travels across the world to discover a part of her grandmother’s life that no one really knew about.  You read about her courageous and loving grandmother who had some crazy obstacles to overcome at a very young age, and also get to see how her granddaughter is transformed as she is seeking the truth about her grandmother’s history. It’s a really beautiful story.  (4.5 stars)

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn: I was happily surprised when I saw that this short story was going to be shipped for free with my first Book of the Month club box.  I’m not one to purchase short stories and don’t really seek them out at the library either so it was fun changing things up with a book that could be finished in one sitting.  The plot gripped me enough to finish it, but I don’t know if it would have held my attention if it were a full novel . . .  (2.5 stars)

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough:  This was my BOTM club pick for January.  It was a little eerie, very twisted, and there was no way I could have predicted the ending.  Still, I can’t tell if I loved it or hated it . . . it was just that strange.  I’ll base my review on the fact that the story has stayed with me for the last month (I’m still thinking about the crazy ending!).  I’d totally recommend it just so you can judge for yourself! (4 stars)

You are a Badass by Jen Sincero: This book is like one big pep talk from a no-nonsense caring friend. I didn’t find any of the advice in here to be earth shattering or something that I haven’t read in other motivational books, but I did find it to be uplifting, concise, and to be a good reminder to believe in myself and take action! (3.5 stars)

The Stranger in the Woods by Michael Finkel: This was my BOTM club pick for February.  I can’t remember the last non-fiction book (other than motivational books) I’ve read, so this was a really nice change of pace.  The true story follows a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for nearly 30 years by choice.  I found myself closing the book a lot and just thinking about the different circumstances he was in, wondering how someone could choose to live in negative 20 degree temperatures winter after winter to avoid human interaction when comfort was literally just a short walk away.  It got me thinking about how we all come from different walks of life and how we’re all just trying to figure out what works best for us.  (3.5 stars)

Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge:  This book was recommended to me by my mom, so of course I was excited to jump into it!  I started this book on a weekend trip to Vegas and finished it shortly after we returned.  Parts of it reminded me so much of What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty, but I think I liked What Alice Forgot a bit more.  Overall, it was a quick and easy read and I liked the emotional ups and downs and how each character’s flaws were explored. (3.5 stars)

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg: Confession: I only got about a third of the way through this before I had to return it to the library, but what I ready was completely fascinating!  If you’re interested in how habits are formed, this book is totally for you! (4 stars based on what I read :)

Currently on my nightstand: First Comes Love by Emily Griffin

What are you reading?  Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

