December Daily® 2016 Preparations

2016-11-12 02.59.49 1.jpg

Hi Friends!

Today I’m sharing how I’ve prepared for my December Daily® project for this year.  I’ve also put a video together where I walk you through my album from last year, share what products I plan to use this year (and how I keep myself organized), and lastly, how I prep my album without the use of foundation pages so that I can feel confident that I won’t get stuck or not know how to move forward on my album once December comes!

2016-11-13 08.45.36 2.jpgSome background:

Last year was my second attempt at completing a December Daily album, but my first time actually doing it.  I took some time last year to assess what parts of my process worked for me and what didn’t so that this year I could feel confident going into this project.

While not everyone works on projects the same way, I’m hopeful that at least some of the tips I’m sharing today will help you with your December Daily® project, or any daily project that you might have lined up in the near future.2016-11-13 08.45.35 1.jpg

Here are some of the things that have worked for me:

Prepping my ideas, but not my pages: A lot of people like to build foundation pages. I totally get that and think the idea is brilliant for getting a head start on your album.  However, I find that building my pages beforehand reduces my flexibility later on.  I like to use my photos to drive what cards and embellishments I use in my pockets, so waiting until I have my photos printed is a must before I start adding things into the pockets.  Instead of adding to my pages, I use a piece of scratch paper to write out ideas of what stories I want to capture throughout the month.

On this piece of paper I make a list from 1-31 to represent each day of the month.  I fill in any days where I already know what activities are happening and below my calendar list I write in ideas for other stories I can capture that aren’t necessarily date specific.  This way, if I ever have a day where nothing is happening (and believe me, there are plenty of those days!) I never feel like I don’t have a story to tell.  Having this list handy also allows me to work ahead.  If I feel momentum to keep working on my album one day, I can capture a couple of stories from my list and actually get ahead!

Keeping my stash organized and minimal: This year’s stash is even bigger than last year’s, but I limited myself to one photo storage box for embellishments, and one small box for papers and cards.  Having a limited amount of supplies helps me remember what I have and ensures that I won’t spend too much time digging through things to find what I need.  I like using boxes to store everything so I can tuck it all away when I’m not working on my album.

Printing and Editing Photos:  I use a mixture of DSLR and camera phone photos for my December Daily, but anything that I snap on my phone I like to edit right away using the VSCO app.  This way it’s ready to go as soon as I import it onto my computer.

I try to print my photos every few days (or every day if possible!).  Printing photos is my least favorite part of working on projects, so if I can get that out of the way right away I’m more likely to work on my album in my free time.

I hope that you have found these tips to be helpful in some way.  One thing I like to remember is that while I see a lot of value in this project and want to capture this season, no project is worth stressing over.  It’s all about making it work for you and not the other way around!

Supplies Mentioned in the Video:

December Daily® Main Kit (Note: the main kit has sold out, but the digital version of this kit can still be purchased here.

Decor8 Mini Kit

Cozy Christmas Digital Stamps

December Calendar Digital Stamp (I used this on my December Calendar page)

December Details Digital Stamp

Digital Studio DIY Digital Mini Kit (I used a 6×8 paper from this mini kit as the foundation for My Reason Why page)

Holiday Planner stamps by Kelly Purkey

Leave a Reply

