A special project for my 29th year

29album229album5Right around my birthday this year (in August) I started thinking about what kind of special project I could work on to help me capture this final year in my twenties.  I wanted to do something a little more personal than Project Life (PL), something that would capture my personal stories, feelings, and basically just record who I am at this time in my life.

Initially I had very little direction for this project.  I figured this would be a bit of an art journal and I’d just throw things in as I felt inspired.  Bad plan.  If I know one thing about myself its that if I don’t start with some kind of plan, the whole project just fades away.

szayas_me_detail

I let this project sit for almost a month and then inspiration hit in the form of the latest Story Kit by Ali Edwards.  The ‘Me’ story kit is perfect for self-reflection! It was exactly what I needed to get this project going.

I started with the general “About Me” page which was easy enough to complete.  I’m generally not much of a journaler, so this was a good warm up :)

szayas_me_fulllayout

Next up, I created this fun 2×2 square pocket layout using some of the messy circles and sentiments that came in the digital kit along with some fun wood veneer shapes.  I don’t want this journal to only be about journaling and self-reflection.  I plan to throw in plenty of design/just for fun pages as well, because that’s where I feel that my personality has the most potential to shine through.

29album4

Okay, next for the journaling. I took my time filling out these “Facts About Me” and “This I Love” cards and then tucked them into a bag (hidden behind the photo), which acted as a little hidden pocket.  Not so practical, but how fun is a pocket that makes this journal a little more interactive. ;-)29album1I think one of the biggest helpers for someone like me who is always wondering, ‘what should I write?’ is the prompt stickers.  These prompts are hopefully going to keep me consistent with updating my journal over the next 10 months.  My plan is to take one prompt every couple of weeks or so and do some writing!  I’m thinking this will get me into a rhythm of not only updating my journal, but also adding in the other bits and pieces that I love so much.

29album6

I’m not quite sure how much of this journal I’ll be sharing here (we’ll see how personal it gets ;) but I’ll probably do a quick update in a few months and then again after my 30th birthday.

Have you ever attempted to make a personal journal?  What did this type of project look like for you?

Leave a Reply

