What I Read in the Summer

whativebeenreadingHappy Friday, friends!

How crazy is it that we’re already heading into the Fall?  I don’t know about you but I’m incredibly excited about cooler weather, pumpkin spice lattes (they’re back) and hopefully being able to wear my boots again soon!  I’m so ready to curl up under a blanket with a good book every once in awhile (instead of sweating it out with the fan on full blast, ha!) I know it might be awhile before SoCal is blessed with a break in the heat, but I’ll be ready when it gets here!

Today I’d like to share with you what I read over the last few months.  A lot of the books I’m sharing here have been pretty popular (so much so that some have been made into movies!) so many reviews have already been posted, but I still wanted to share my thoughts :)

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter: This book was pretty far out from what I typically read, which is partly why I picked it up.  If this were a movie, there would have been quite a few cringe-worthy times I would have looked away. However, despite some really disturbing parts, I still found myself reading on.  I was intrigued to see what new twists the main character would go though.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes :  This book had so much hype a couple of years ago, but the recent reviews I had been hearing weren’t quite as positive.  Sometimes I wish that I didn’t care about reading reviews, but to be transparent, reviews and recommendations usually fuel what books I choose to read. That being said, I did quite enjoy it.  It wasn’t my favorite book of the summer and it felt a bit like a story I had already read, but I enjoyed the characters and it was heartfelt throughout.

Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert: I’m so happy I listened to this as an audiobook.  Having this book read aloud by Elizabeth Gilbert felt extra magical.  It was like having a friend in the car whose sole mission was to express her thoughts on creativity, pushing past barriers, and finding joy in things you’re making (whether they’re masterpieces or complete duds).  Sound amazing?  It was!!

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins: I listened to the first half of this as an audiobook and the second half I read. I loved all of the twists and turns of the plot and the back and forth between characters and time.  I also loved how each character had so many dimensions.  I honestly didn’t know who I should be rooting for.  Not sure how this will translate into a movie, but I guess we’ll soon find out!

Looking for Alaska by John Green: I only made it through about half of this book, which is pretty sad considering its only about 250 pages.  I really wanted to like it, but I couldn’t get into the characters’ stories.

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman: My favorite book of the summer!  A pretty emotional read from start to finish, and I got so deeply involved in the main characters. I spent many late nights with this one so I could continue reading.  Can’t recommend it enough!

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

