What I Read in the Spring

2016-06-11 07.05.55 1.jpgThe first half of this year was definitely slow going in terms of reading for me, but I’m happy to say that things finally started picking up in the Spring when I began taking daily walks to the library on my lunch break (instead of going to the gym- Whoops!).   Here’s what I’ve been reading.

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty: This story centers around a woman who has temporary amnesia after an accident and wakes up to find herself 10 years older and in a life she doesn’t really know.  She has to figure out who she is and repair relationships that have fallen apart.  This was a great and easy read.  I love the way Moriarty writes and how easily her chapters flow together- it always makes me want to keep reading on.

At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen: I haven’t read “Water for Elephants” and I hadn’t heard anything about this book so I honestly didn’t have any expectations going in.  Reading this book was definitely a pleasant surprise.  It was part love story, part self-discovery for the main character, all with a 1940’s setting.  Throw in the eeriness of the loch ness monster along with some other small town tales and suspicions and you have yourself a pretty good story here.

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff:  I had some high hopes for this book and really wanted to like it after hearing so many great reviews.  I got through about half before deciding it  wasn’t my kind of book.  I just couldn’t get into it enough to keep reading on.  I didn’t really like the main characters (or any of the supporting characters) so it was hard for me to get into their stories.  Still, I appreciated the great writing (you know how you sometimes wish you could speak as eloquently as a writer writes?  Well, that was totally me with Lauren Groff).  Maybe I’ll pick it up again in a couple of years and give it another try.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: This is the third book by Rainbow Rowell that I’ve read, and while I really enjoyed Landline and Eleanor & Park, this was my favorite of the three.  I love Rowell’s style of writing and I often forget the struggles that the main characters are going through because there are just so many laugh out loud moments.  I loved the main character and felt my old college freshman self relating to some of her introverted and awkward tendencies.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr:  This was on my reading list for what seemed like FOREVER.  When it finally got checked in at my library I was all over it!  This book did not disappoint.  I got so involved in each character’s story that it became a very emotional ride- but one that was well worth going on.

I’m currently reading Pretty Girls and next up is The Nightengale.  What are you reading?  I’m always looking for new books to add to my list!

Have a wonderful weekend :)

Leave a Reply

