Summer Memories Mini Book

Summer Memories Cover.jpg

Hello, friends!  Today I’m super excited to be sharing a mini book that I created using the Summer Messy Circles and Journal Cards from the June digital release by Ali Edwards.  This project is the perfect example of one of the reasons why I’m such a huge fan of working with digital products.  As much as I love playing around with traditional papers, embellishments, and stamping, I always find that if I go the digital/hybrid route I can cut my project work time in half, reduce a lot of the guesswork, and still have just as much fun crafting (its a win all around!)

For the cover of my mini I went with a simple grid layout using three 2×2 inch photos along with the cropped “bring on the sun” part of one of the summer journaling cards. For my title I used the blue Summer Memories card and typed “2013” directly onto my layout before printing.

IMG_6516.JPGIMG_6517.JPGIMG_6518.JPG

For the image part of my book (the right pages) I used a format variation of having my two small pictures on the top and the messy circle on the bottom with the opposite on every other page.  When choosing a basic layout like this I think subtle format changes from page to page can make the overall look more interesting while still keeping everything cohesive.

IMG_6522.JPGFor the journaling part of my book (the left pages) I stamped the same messy circle from the corresponding page either directly above or below my journaling.

IMG_6520.JPGOnce I printed all of my photo pages on photo paper and the journaling paper on regular cardstock I cut them down to 4×6 (with a slight white border) and then adhered them onto different colored cardstock just to add another fun element of pattern and color.  Other than that no other embellishments were added.  Super simple!

IMG_6521.JPGI would say that choosing photos for this mini was probably the most time consuming part.  Everything else came together so quickly that I was able to wrap this mini up in just a single afternoon!

IMG_6523.JPGSo happy to have this little mini of special summer memories to flip through :)

IMG_6515.JPG

2 thoughts on “Summer Memories Mini Book

Leave a Reply

