Day in the Life 2016

DITL Cover.jpgThis was the first year that I successfully completed a Day in the Life #DITL project and fully documented it.  To my amazement it was totally doable!  A few things have held me back in previous years- the desire to have perfect photos, feeling “weird” about taking everyday photos in public (does anyone else have this problem?), and feeling overwhelmed with the documenting process.

Today I’d like to share my book and also talk about how I overcame those things that held me back before.

Photo quality:  Before I went into the day I already knew that I’d probably end up taking 100% of my photos on my phone camera (which I did).  This actually worked out really well.  I was able to edit all of my photos with the VSCO app instead of fiddling with things in Photoshop, which for me is a much longer process.  I also told myself that if the lighting was horrible in more than a few photos I’d give myself permission to turn all photos to Black and White.  I didn’t end up going that route, but I think that also could have looked really cool!

Taking everyday photos in public: I’m a shy person so I still struggle with feeling self-conscious when I’m  taking everyday snapshots in public sometimes.   I know that people don’t really care what I’m taking photos of, but it can still hold me back from taking photos sometimes (especially when I’m out and about by myself).  I constantly have to remind myself that the reason I’m taking a photo is far more important than what a stranger thinks (or probably isn’t even thinking anyways).

Documenting process: I had every intention of making a 4×4 mini book for this project, but when I couldn’t find page protectors at my local Hobby Lobby I just changed direction instead of getting frustrated.  I have so many midori traveler sized notebooks so I decided to make that my format.  It ended up being less expensive, and the whole process just felt easier and more documenter-ish.  I found myself writing more and looking through my stash for little bits and bobs to add.

It ended up being a super enjoyable process, which is what it’s all about :)

DITL1.JPGDITL2IMG_6391.JPGDITL4DITL5DITL6DITL7IMG_6403DITL9DITL10DITL11DITL12DITL13DITL14

Supplies Used:

Ali Edwards Day in the Life kit (digital version can be purchased here)

Random Studio Calico washi tape, alpha stickers, and journaling cards

My Traveler’s notebook was a really inexpensive one I purchased at Michaels (in a 3-pack).  However, I LOVE the Midori ones too!

In a Creative Bubble documenter card

5 thoughts on “Day in the Life 2016

  1. I absolutely love this. I did a week in a life a couple of years ago and I still am paralyzed in the process. Over thinking it, I guess.

Leave a Reply

