Project Life 2016: Week 4 and 6

SZayas_Sparks.Cheer.Celeb.Gratitude_FullLayoutHello, friends!

Both Project Life layouts I’m sharing today were created using mainly digital releases from Ali Edwards’ shop.

I love how some of the main themes in the March releases had to do with celebrating and being thankful.  These themes are great for any week, but it was especially perfect for documenting the week that my favorite guy turned 30!

SZayas_Sparks.Cheer.Celeb.Gratitute_Detail

Left Page: The ‘celebrate’ filler card on top comes from the Celebrate Journal Cards set. I love using busy cards like this as backgrounds for embellishments/photos.  I find that adding journaling on top of busy cards can be a bit too much, but adding a single embellishment or sentiment is usually the perfect mix.  For this card I printed the ‘Crazy Good’ sentiment onto white cardstock and hand cut it out.  Underneath my sentiment I tucked a couple of Kelly Purkey sticky note flags to stamp my date on.

For the journaling card in the middle of my layout I used the gray and white striped card from the same Celebrate card set and (digitally) stamped the ‘awesome’ sentiment from this set at the top. I had originally typed my journaling onto the card, but found that I liked the look of handwriting more so I went that route.  I actually find myself doing this a lot.  I’ll start by typing my journaling, but it eventually ends up serving as a rough draft for writing it out with my own handwriting.

IMG_6285

For my bottom card I stamped ‘Shine On’ on top of the yellow and white striped journaling card in that same ‘Celebrate’ card set. The cork numbers come from an old Studio Calico document kit.

Right Page: I didn’t have a 4×6 photo to use in my top pocket, so instead of using my fuse tool to make it into 2- 3×4 pockets I simply left extra white cardstock to the right of my ‘Thankful, Thankful, Thankful’ card when I was cutting it down and adhered my photo right on top of that blank space.  I used the same grey and white striped card as I had on the left layout in that middle pocket, however, this time I stamped ‘CHEER’ three times on the bottom of my card.

IMG_6286

And in case you noticed in the photo above, yes, that’s a Homer doll hanging in our kitchen . . . and no, I have nothing else to say about it, ha!

Next up is a layout I put together using the February digital releases.  SZayas_EncouragementCards&MessyLove_FullLayout

This layout documented one day out of the week when I went on a hike in the Hollywood Hills with some good friends.

Left Page: For the top pocket I used a 4×6 Studio Calico card as my background and used half of another 4×6 card on top of that as a background for the “I love this” digital stamp that I printed and cut out.  I kept everything else on this page very simple with photos and the “Your Got This” filler card.

Right Page: Again, very simple here using photos and a card from this Ecouragement Journal card set.  For the bottom pocket I used the “Yes” portion 0f the “So totally proud of you, YES” card from the same set and pasted it directly on top of the bottom portion of this city landscape card that came in an old Studio Calico kit.

SZayas_EncouragementCards&MessyLove_Detail

Again, totally sharing my pages out of order, but I figure that’s better than not sharing them at all, right?!  :)

Leave a Reply

