Opposites Attract (Layout)

SZayas_Black&White_FullLayoutHello, friends!  Today I’m excited to be sharing an 8.5 x 11 layout I created using some of the March digital releases by Ali Edwards.  In particular, I used the Black and White digital stamps.

Anyone that knows me and my husband well knows that our personalities are quite different.  He is very much an extroverted, outgoing person and I am very much an introverted, quiet person.  I’m very much a planner and like to be on time to everything while he is much more spontaneous and will never become a stress case over being a few minutes late.  We do not question this balance of opposites- it just seems to work really well for us 99% of the time.

This was the story that I had in mind as I was putting this layout together.

SZayas_Black&White_Detail2

I started by laying everything out on a 8.5 x 11 canvas in Photoshop.  This is always my first step when I know I’ll be printing my journaling directly on my main page.  I like to get a feel for where everything will sit before printing so I can be sure that my journaling placement will be where I want it to be once I start adhering things down.  Once my journaling and all of the digital stamps had been printed on my white cardstock I went in with some patterned paper to add color under my black and white photos.  I LOVE the contrast between the mint green and bright red!

The ampersand in the middle of the page is from the same black and white digital stamp set.  I (digitally) stamped this in the bright red, printed it on cardstock, and then hand cut it after printing.

SZayas_Black&White_Detail

The bottom of my page felt a little colorless so I went in with some “confetti” after hole punching some patterned paper and adhered the little dots right inside the bullet point bubbles.

Simple and colorful, just how I like it! :)

Leave a Reply

