Project Life 2016: Week 1

PL2016CoverImage

Good morning friends!  I’m excited to be sharing the first week of my 2016 Project Life album today! Working with this 6×12 size has proven to be awesome so far.  Having a little more space to work with has given me more freedom to play around with photo and journaling placement, which is kind of like figuring out a visual puzzle.  My inner design geek is having a lot of fun with this :)IMG_6153

The week of December 27 was pretty relaxed.  It was nice having an easy week after the fun Christmas festivities.  We celebrated my brother-in-law’s birthday, hung out around the house, ate way too much good food, and of course we also celebrated new year’s day.

IMG_6154

Throughout this layout I carried out a circle design as well as an orange and blue color scheme to play off the colors in my photos.  The die cut circles at the top are from an old Studio Calico kit, which I did my date stamp on.  The ’16 Memories’ is a digital date stamp that’s new to Ali Edwards’ shop.  I also used three enamel circles on my bottom right photo to carry out my circle theme and visually balance things out.

IMG_6155

One of my favorite elements on this layout ended up being this ampersand transparent die cut from an old studio calico kit, which I stamped around using this “Say Yes to New Adventures” stamp from a Kelly Purkey set.   The stamp itself is a thin straight line of text, but since it’s so thin it can be manipulated to curve when it’s placed onto an acrylic block.  I manipulated the text as best I could to line up around the die cut and then stamped three times.  I’d totally recommend trying this out if you’re looking for a fun way to add a stamped border to a shape!

Leave a Reply

