My plan for Project Life 2016

IMG_6118Happy New Year, friends!

The beginning of a new year marks a fresh start on a lot of things, but one that I’m most excited about is starting a brand new Project Life album! This year I’ll be working with a new size, which is both awesome and slightly terrifying, ha! Working with a new size I knew I wanted to have a rough layout plan and to set up some foundation pages.  It’s always nice to feel like I have a head start in the right direction :)

Choosing my size:  Last year I went with a 6×8 album, which was honestly quite perfect, but this year I wanted to try something new.  After a lot of thought (probably a bit too much . . .) I decided to go with a 6×12 layout.  Three main things brought me to this decision: Feeling super inspired by Kelly Purkey’s album last year, wanting to use up all of my old 12×12 page protectors that I purchased a few years ago, and wanting to try out a size that’s new to me.

Supplies: Since the 6×12 layout size is still pretty new to the Project Life community, products in this size (e.g. page protectors and albums) are a more scarce.  I’ve found a few products online, which I’ll link to below, but hopefully this post will also give you some ideas for creative solutions so you can work with products you may already have.

Albums: Pink with Polka Dots, Leather album (a few color options available),  Craft Colored (this is the one I purchased).

Another option is to cut down a 12×12 or 9×12 album using a sturdy exacto knife.

Page Protectors: Holds 3: 4×6 photos, Holds 2: 4×6 photos and 2: 3×4 photos, Holds 1: 6×12 photos .

I purchased a few packs of the 3: 4×6 protectors and will probably purchase some of the full page 6×12 protectors soon.  However, I’ll primarily be using inserts I created myself by cutting down some old Design A 12×12 protectors.

The photos below show my process for cutting down the 12×12 full page into one 6×12 page and then using my fuse tool to create another 3×12 insert.IMG_6114Here I’m starting with a full 12×12 Design A page.  My first step was cutting as close as I could to the right of the middle seam (careful not to cut the actual seam).  With this cut I already had a 6×12 page with the 3 hole punches along the side.

Next, I used the remaining 6×12 piece to create a 3×12 insert.

FuseI simply fused down the middle of the page to transform my 4×6 pockets on the top and bottom into 3×4 pockets.  Lastly, I left about 1/4 inch to the left of the middle seam and made a cut.  That quarter inch gave me just enough room to drill my 3-hole punches so they could line up perfectly with the 6×12 pages.

With this method you’ll still end up with a small scrap of protector sheet.  Since I tend to use transparencies a lot in my projects, I’ll be cutting my scraps down on as as needed basis.  You can actually see how I used a piece of my scraps in one of the pockets on my cover page below.IMG_6122

My Cover Page: Covers are always a real struggle for me.  This cover took far longer than it probably should have, but in the end I was super happy with it.  I’ve found that keeping things simple always works out best.

On the top I used two images that were taken last year.  The mural wall behind me was really colorful so I desaturated the photo to tone it down.  I cropped the images to 3×4, but I printed them side by side to fit in the 4×6 pocket.  I stamped “The Story” on kraft cardstock and adhered it using my tiny attacher.  This stamp was designed by One Little Bird and came in one of last year’s Studio Calico kits.  The gold star card and ‘Bring it 2016’ cards both came in the December Studio Calico kit.   IMG_6123

I’ve been hoarding these Dear Lizzy pink alphas forever, but this seemed like the perfect project to use them on.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find them available online, but they might still be available at Michaels Stores.IMG_6124

The last preparation stip I did for my album was creating some monthly inserts. IMG_6125My current plan is to use these Paislee Press calendar cards as my insert headers.  On the front I’d like to list out a few goals for the upcoming month, and on the back I’d like to review how the previous month’s goals went.  Holding myself accountable definitely helps keep me on track with my goals!IMG_6130

IMG_6127What size album will you be working with this year?  I feel like committing to a size is always the toughest part . . . the story telling is just gravy :-)

Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “My plan for Project Life 2016

  1. I like the 6×12 size. Thanks for sharing how you use the fuse. I am doing 8.5×11 this year and I may need to take advantage of all the 12x12s I have and cut some down.

Leave a Reply

