December Daily: Days 2-4

December Daily Part 2IMG_5960I’m excited to be back today sharing more December Daily progress!  If you’ve missed my previous posts for my cover page and Day 01 I’ll link them below.

I’m happy to say that after a full week into this project I’m only a couple of days behind on documenting, mainly because we were in Vegas last weekend . . . so really I can’t complain :)IMG_5962

Day 02: December 2nd was a really hard day to document.  The mass shooting in San Bernardino had everyone in our community on edge and I was glued to the news all day long.  I was so sad for the families that lost someone, and I hadn’t even really processed all that had happened at that point.  I had a lot of thoughts and feelings so I did some journaling about the day’s events and ended up including them here.

On the left I cut down a 6×8 transparency and printed “Hope Anchors the Soul” on it.  This verse kept running through my head as I was processing things. I was really pleased how my typed out version looked (see original version here), but sadly the printer ink never completely dried.  Fortunately, or maybe unfortunately, I was able to just wipe the ink off the transparency and use a marker to handwrite this verse. That did the job, but I’m not really convinced I like the look of my own writing here. I might end up reworking how I use this verse, but for now it’s staying as is.IMG_5957

On the right side I have a 6×8 envelope that I tucked my journaling card in.  On the envelope I used a very old stamp set for stamping Peace and a bunch of snowflakes using blue and grey archival ink. I also used some translucent blue snowflake puffy stickers and randomly adhered them around the envelope for some dimension.  The 6×8 card here comes from the Ali Edwards December Daily main kit.

IMG_5959Day 03: Today I wanted to tell the story of my Christmas shopping experience this year.  A couple of years ago I never would have considered myself to be a big online shopper.  Last year I bought a few gifts online, but this year I’d say I’ve done about 50% of my shopping online.  Crazy how times change!

Since I typically write down everyone’s wish list along with my own ideas for each gift receiver I thought it would be fun to give each person their own little card which I’d tuck inside my album for safekeeping.  It might be fun to come back to this years down the road and see what everyone was into!IMG_5961

The little dove came from In a Creative Bubble’s  Good Cheer digitals , which I simply punched out with a 1″ circle punch.  The washi tapes here came from the Ali Edwards main kit and that ‘wonderful’ washi tape sticker comes from a Heidi Swapp collection.

I had a lot of fun playing around with the #3 card here (also from the Ali Edwards main kit).  I used an envelope stamp from the Kelly Purkey Work Planner stamp set and randomly stamped all over the card.  My stamping started to get closer and closer together, which created a gradient effect.  As you can see here, I decided to go with that idea and made my stamping in the top right super concentrated.

IMG_5964

Day 04:  On the 4th we drove out to Vegas for the weekend.  Most of our time was spent checking out the holiday decorations (the photos here are from the Bellagio), eating, resting, and watching Le Reve (stay tuned for Day 5 coming next week!)

On the left page I used two journaling cards that Life Love Paper offered for FREE on her blog last week.  Check them out.   You won’t be disappointed!  I wanted to have quite a bit of space for journaling so I cut a piece of regular white cardstock down to 3×8″ and just drew my lines.IMG_5965

On the back I adhered some paper from the Ali Edwards main kit.  I also glued two 4×6 photos back to back and stuck them straight into the album.IMG_5966

Finally, I used the red chipboard letters that also came in the main kit to spell out Vegas.  I wanted my #4 to stand out so I wrapped gold washi tape around it.  I was a little worried it might not stick well, but so far it’s doing great!IMG_5969

I can’t believe how full this album is after only a few days!  I’m thinking I might have to cut back on some of my chipboard elements or split this book in to two albums!

In case you missed my previous December Daily posts, here is where you can read about how my cover page came together, and here is Day 01.

How is your December Daily album coming along?  Are you having fun capturing the memories of the season?

5 thoughts on “December Daily: Days 2-4

Leave a Reply

