Let’s Do Brunch!

IMG_5778 I don’t know about you, but I’m a big fan of food!  Breakfast/brunch is usually my favorite meal of the day.  You just can’t go wrong with something you can pour syrup on and compliment with a cup of coffee, am I right?

Well, there were several months in the past year when O was driving back and forth from Sacramento every week for work.  He’d get home around midnight Friday night and on late Saturday morning we’d both look at each other and try to figure out what we’d want to eat for breakfast.  More often than not we’d find a nearby restaurant and settle in for brunch.  It was seriously the best.  Time to chat with the hubby over a waffle and coffee?  Yes, please!

Brunch sort of became our thing.  When the weeks felt long and the miles between us seemed WAY TOO LONG, at least we had Saturday morning to look forward to.

IMG_5781

As I was scrolling through my iPhoto library last weekend, I kept coming across all of these food photos I had taken from our brunches.  A layout had to be made :-) I took my favorite six photos and decided to make a grid layout with them.

The best part about food is that it’s usually pretty colorful so I had a lot of fun tying many different colors and patterns together.  I used a black and white graph-like paper from Studio Calico as the foundation for my photos and cut up strips of this Pick Me Up paper from Pebbles to separate my rows of photos. I love all of those colorful little to-go coffee cups!

IMG_5782

I had been hoarding these Amy Tangerine alphabet thickers forever, so I pulled them out and put them to use.  I also stamped a couple of food phrases from the Kelly Purkey Food Coma onto regular white cardstock and adhered them as embellishments.IMG_5780

I’m really happy with how bright and cheery this layout turned out- it goes along great with all of those fond memories of our delicious brunches!

2 thoughts on “Let’s Do Brunch!

Leave a Reply

