September/October Book Roundup

Processed with VSCOcam

October has been a slooooooow reading month for me.  Although I had over 20 hours of plane travel in October, I fell into the movie marathon trap. It had been a long time since I’d sat down to watch a movie, so perhaps I felt the need to “catch up”?  I have no idea what it was, but the bottom line is that even though I took a book with me everywhere I went, I only got through about 50 pages *sigh*
Most of the reading below was done in September.  Not a lot here, but still worth sharing :-)
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles:  This isn’t normally a book I would reach for, so I was really happy when a good friend passed along her copy after finishing it.  To me, the story seemed to start out slow, but after about 50 pages things definitely picked up.  The story is set in 1938 New York and follows a young woman through a year in her life.  I know that sounds pretty ordinary, but what makes this book interesting are the encounters that the main character has with people that belong to upper class society along with her drive for independence so she can continue to do things on her own terms.

Building a Business by Maggie Whitley and Elise Blaha Cripe:  I love little e-book gems like this.  I’ve learned so much from Elise regarding small business from just reading her blog and listening to her podcast, so I was excited to hear she had co-authored this e-book.  This book is for anyone who is thinking about selling hand-made goods, wants to take their selling to a new level, or even for people who are generally thinking about making their blogging/craft into more than just a hobby.  There are so many great resources here.  I found myself skimming through some sections that I felt didn’t quite apply to me (or things that I’m just not thinking about yet), but I like knowing they are there so I can refer to them later.

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion: Like others out there I didn’t quite like this book as much as The Rosie Project.  I didn’t laugh as much, and I didn’t find the main character, Don, to be quite as charming.  Maybe I didn’t give myself enough of a break between the Rosie Project and the sequel to really appreciate it, but this one just didn’t click with me as much.  That being said, I still really enjoyed it (which probably says more about how much I really liked The Rosie Project!).  I still kept reaching for it night after night until I was finished.  If you read the Rosie Project and enjoyed it, I’d totally encourage you to pick this one up too.
Currently on my Fall/Winter reading list are: Fangirl, The Sky is Everywhere, The Invention of Wings, What Alice Forgot, and The Art of Possibility.
What are you reading?
Leave a Reply

