Starting New Creative Habits

IMG_5442

I’ve made a goal for myself this year to create early morning creative habits.  To me that means waking up about an hour earlier than I normally do so I can spend some time doing something creative before heading into work. Did you know research shows that people are most productive in the first part of the day AND that by getting up when your alarm first goes off (and not pressing snooze 5 times like me) actually helps you feel more awake throughout the day? Sounds pretty awesome, right?! Except for one little thing . . . I’m totally not a morning person.  I would LOVE to be a morning person and sip my coffee while the sun rises, but when the morning actually does come all I want to do is pull the covers up over my head and sleep for an extra hour.  I’m conflicted I tell ya!
Creating early morning habits is going to be a challenge, but practice makes better, and I think this is one habit that I’ll enjoy once it actually does become a habit.

To facilitate creating this habit I’ve rounded up a few books to get the creative juices flowing while my brain is slowly waking up.
IMG_5445IMG_5446
1) One Zentangle a Day: The first time I did Zentangle was a few years ago.  It takes practice getting into the zone and just focusing on pattern making, but once you can block out distractions this process really does become therapeutic.
IMG_5448

IMG_5450

2) Craft-A-Doodle: I love how this book brings together different techniques from different artists.  You get to work with different mediums and test out different styles.IMG_5442IMG_5444

3) Let’s Draw Cute Animals and Let’s Draw Happy People: Although I was always messing around with markers and paint as a kid, I was never really into drawing- mainly because I didn’t think I was very good at it.  Now is as good a time as any to overcome that ridiculous hesitation and just have fun with it.  Plus, these illustrations are SO CUTE!

So, have I enticed you enough to start your own morning creative habit?  Or, is this something you already practice?

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

