January/February Book Reviews

Jan_Feb Book Report

Some days I can get so crazy stressed with that feeling that I just don’t have enough time in the day to do everything.  And yet . . . I make time for reading.  I don’t think there’s ever been a time where I’ve been stressed while I’m reading for pleasure.  It’s such a happy place to be in.  My reading times are sporadic . . . while cooking dinner, while driving (as a passenger ;-) somewhere, waiting for laundry, weekend mornings, before bed, while eating . . .) which is why I tend to take a book with me everywhere I go.  Honestly, I don’t mind if I look a little bookworm :-)
Yes, Please by Amy Poehler
After hearing so much buzz about this book, I was completely ready to dive in too!  I’m a fan of Amy Poehler I was really eager to read about how she got to where she is today.  This memoir has many laugh out loud moments, but it’s also very real and doesn’t try make light of serious situations.  Poehler doesn’t try to sugarcoat her life experiences but she also doesn’t play up experiences to add drama.  She’s candid about her life and very open about her flaws. I really appreciated this look into the life of such a strong woman whose made a successful career for herself in doing what she loves..  This book is a fun ride (and if you see the format that the book is written in you’ll see what I mean!)
The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan
 I usually avoid books full of short stories/essays.  In truth, I’ve probably missed out on reading some great literature because of this, but I feel like it takes me at least 10 pages to get into a good story and with a short story it’s already over in 10 pages! The real life story surrounding this book is very tragic- the author was killed in a car accident a few years ago at the age of 23.  This book is compiled of a bunch of short stories that she wrote while in college.  As I read this book I got a peek at how talented this young woman was. The stories she wrote (both fiction and nonfiction) were sometimes haunting given the truth of what would happen in her life.
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo
 I might be a little weird for loving this book . . . but I can see I’m not alone when I read the Amazon reviews!  Some of the ideas of this book were a little far out for me (I don’t really think inanimate household objects have feelings) yet I can understand the author’s point of appreciating and taking care of the things we have and love.  She discusses the ways to do a complete tidying home transformation with the basic principle of only keeping objects that “spark joy.”  She also has some great organizational tips (one simple clothing storage tip has changed my life!  Seriously . . . try storing the clothing in your drawers vertically instead of using the stacking method and you’ll be smiling from ear to ear). This book totally spoke to my tidying tendencies . . . now if you’ll excuse me- I’ll be working on tossing out at least half the items I own.
Currently reading Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty.  What have you been reading lately?
Leave a Reply

