Welcome, Weekend! A Few Good Books

ReadingHappy Friday, Friends!This weekend I’m determined to find some quiet time for reading.  After all, weekend mornings really should be spent curled up on the sofa with some coffee and a good book, right?  I’ve recently (and by recently I mean in the last few months) finished some great books, so without further adieu . . .
The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown– I’ll always have a special place in my heart (and personal library!) for motivational books. This book really spoke to the worrier and people-pleaser in me.  I love how Brown openly discusses her own experiences and imperfections.  We are all imperfect and we can’t do it all, but at the end of the day we need to find peace and acceptance when we’ve done our best and all we can.  I know . . . always easier said than done.  I can’t say this book changed my life, but whenever I read it before going to bed I really did feel more peace and the next day I would spend time digesting the information.
Something Blue by Emily Griffin– This is the followup book to “Something Borrowed” which was made into a movie.  If you hated the character of Darcy in “Something Borrowed” then you might not find much comfort in  knowing she’s the main character of this book. However, if you can find the humor in all of her crrraziness and you stick with it you’ll witness some great character changes :-) I found this book to be really funny at times and overall an enjoyable read.
Where we Belong by Emily Griffin– I had so much fun reading “Something Blue” that I decided to pick up another Emily Griffin book before our trip to Canada.  This is my favorite book of hers so far.  It’s funny at times, but also very heartfelt.  The premise revolves around a girl who seeks out her birth mother after she turns 18.  You follow their current lives, their history, and there’s also a sweet love story in there.
The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)– This is one of the best books I’ve read in awhile! It’s a murder mystery that centers around a detective investigating a supermodel’s death that was originally determined to be a suicide. I loved the rich character development and found the mystery aspect to be fun.  It reminded me of when I was a teenager reading Nancy Drew- ha!
I’m currently reading Yes, Please by Amy Poehler.  What are you reading?  Any recommendations?
Leave a Reply

