Revisiting 27 Goals

IMG_4492

January is flying by!  Did you make any New Year’s resolutions for 2015?  Mine always seem to be similar generic goals: be more food conscious, be more green (use those darn reusable bags!), and drink more water. I just can’t seem to lock in specific goals for the first month of the year. Maybe I’ve been jaded over the years because I always hit burnout by March.  My enthusiasm for setting specific goals usually hits right around my birthday . .  . there’s just something about realizing that I’m a year older that gets me wanting to accomplish some big things in the next year.

Last August I set 27 goals for myself and shared them on the blog.  Now, after about 5 months of having this list, I’m ready to discuss what’s been crossed off (and reveal the things that haven’t!). Also, I should mention that this list has been so much more to me than just a handy checklist where things can get crossed off.  Truly, this list has pushed me to do things that I normally would have either put off or changed plans on.  I love having a focused list that moves me towards my goals.

1. Take a Photography Class

2. Visit a new Country: We traveled to Canada in December and had such amazing experiences!  Part 1 is here and Part 2 is coming soon.

3. Improve my wardrobe: Working on it.  In mid-October I created a capsule wardrobe (and talked about it in this post) in an effort to better define my style and invest (rather than waste) money on really good clothing that I can wear again and again.  So far I feel like I’ve been doing a really good job with this.

4. Simplify the items in my life (embrace minimalism): This is a constant effort.  For anyone interested in approaching minimalism, this blog is a fantastic resource.

5. Sign up for a kickboxing class– So far I haven’t found any classes nearby.  I might have to adopt a good workout DVD to work on this goal.

6. Practice yoga more frequently– It hasn’t become a regular thing, but I’ve definitely started doing it more frequently and found a couple of classes I really enjoy.  I’ve also determined that yoga instruction by way of DVD just doesn’t work for me.

7. Set up an Etsy Shop

8. Start Juicing

9.  Host an awesome Friendsgiving: It really was awesome, and hopefully a new tradition :-)

10.  Continue to work on Project Life Consistently: FAIL

11. Make a vacation video-Footage has been captured. The making of the video is in progress and will be shared on the blog soon.

12. Make a video tutorial

13. Make time for reading– Almost every night- even if only for 15 minutes.

14. Set large financial goals– It’s an ambitious one for sure.  Now I just need to flesh it all out.

15. Improve Snowboarding Skills– Check! Thanks to the Canadian ski slopes!

16. Weave something awesome

17. Become fluent in Spanish– This is probably my most ambitious goal.  I practice with O when we remember to do so.  Remembering seems to be the problem.

18. Learn how to drive a manual car

19. Go kayaking or canoeing

20.  Make Curry

21. Go to three concerts: One down . . . two to go!

22. Have a picnic

23. Go camping– I got as close as I’m going to get for now with a trip to Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks in Utah.  The only thing that was missing was . . . well, the camping (ha!).  I just can’t convince the hubby that sleeping on the ground really can be fun.  I’m giving up on this battle- for now ;-)

24. Take a cooking class

25. Worry Less: This is really hard to determine, but I really like that I included it on my list.  I feel like I’m constantly reminding myself to just take things one at a time and focus on the present.  Sometimes I’m successful, and other times are just really tough.

26. Go to a comedy show: Check.  Jeff Dunham is a riot!

27. Be more kind to my body: Heck yes.  I’ve modified my workout routines to be a little less strenuous (yet still challenging), and have started to eat more healthy. This for me has been a HUGE change.  I used to think I could eat anything I wanted if I could kill my body working it off.  I’ve slowly been changing my mindset.

As you can see from my progress, I still have a ways to go.  However, this year’s progress is MAJOR compared to previous years.  Some of the above items have already been planned out while others are going to take significant effort to complete.  I’m really happy I still have 7 more months to get to work!
Leave a Reply

