Our Trip to Canada (Part 1)

Adventures In Canada Title

There were a few things that intimidated me about traveling to Canada in December.  Get ready for some pretty lame (yet very real to me!) fears. First, I didn’t know how I was going to get along in the cold weather.  Anyone who knows me knows that I’m ALWAYS cold- even in the summer when the air conditioning is hitting me too long.  Omar and I joked that I might return to California as his “wifesicle.”  Second, I knew I was going to be snowboarding. I wasn’t about to let Omar have all the fun in Whistler, but snowboarding is something that both excites and terrifies me despite the fact that I’ve practiced several times.  And thirdly, the general intimidation of traveling out of the country (a first for both of us!) . . . even if we weren’t going that far!

Once we actually got to Canada though I knew we had picked the perfect place for a winter vacation. It was a short trip (5 nights total), but that seemed like just enough time to experience all that we wanted to do.  We spent the first couple of days in Whistler- snowboarding for most of the daytime and then taking our sore bodies to wander through town in the evenings so we could look through the shops and eat some delicious food.  On the third day we packed in the snowboarding gear and headed into Vancouver.  We didn’t get to spend much time in the city, but it didn’t take long for me to fall in love with the view from our hotel room (see the last photo below).  Our final day was spent at the Butchart Gardens, which was probably my favorite day of our trip (coming soon in Part 2!)
This trip was an amazing experience, and I’m so grateful we got to go.  In the end, the cold was more mild than I thought it was going to be, the snowboarding wasn’t so scary after I had fallen a few times and realized that I don’t break like glass, and getting that first stamp in my passport was a huge moment and something I had dreamed about for years.  We have our fingers crossed that someday we’ll get to go back.

20141217_084522DinerIMG_4822Ice RinkShoesIMG_4835OmarIMG_4851Me SnowboardingUsIMG_4856IMG_4862IMG_4859

2 thoughts on “Our Trip to Canada (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

