Catching up on Project Life

This last week has been so special and I can’t wait to share a few snapshots of our Las Vegas trip here on the blog next week.  It was a short trip (only four days, actually) but it was a great opportunity for some R&R.  I realize that R&R is not usually the first thing you think of when you’re considering a vacation in Vegas, but for us Vegas is all about taking our time walking around, going to see a few shows, and eating delicious food.  We don’t really jump into the nightlife scene.  Anyways, more about the trip later.  Right now I’m transitioning back into work mode while eating leftover birthday cake . . . yummmm.  Everything’s a little easier with a slice of cake by your side ;-)

I’ve been working on so many projects lately that I’ve been doing some jumping around on my Project Life album.  Today I wanted to share a couple layouts in an effort to play catch up.  My hope is that by the end of August I’ll be all caught up on my album!  If you follow in chronological order you might notice that my week of June 21-27 is absent.  That was the week we were in D.C. and I haven’t quite decided if I’m going to do a special insert or just a regular layout for the trip.  For now I’m happy with only having the daybook I put together after the trip.June 28-July 4What happened this week: A lot of celebrating this week!  We celebrated a good friend’s birthday in Los Angeles on July 3rd and celebrated Independence Day by going to an Angels game and watching a fireworks show after.

Special Techniques Used: Sometimes with selfies you never know what you’re going to get! That was the case with the photo below.  We captured us along with the family behind us.  It seemed a little odd to leave strangers (who were a pretty big focal point) in the photo, so I tried a couple of different options for cropping them out.  The first was the easiest fix.  I simply put a sticker right over the area I wanted to hide and added some text.  After working on the rest of the page, however, this photo felt too busy with the sticker and I knew I would need some more room for text.  I simply brought the photo into Photoshop, cropped off the top, moved the photo up to the top, and added in some text on the bottom. I felt like the clean layout fit really well on the page.Quick Tip

Products Used:

1. Sunshine In My Soul journaling cards by One Little Bird designs

2. The Open Road accent Stickers by Crate Paper

3. Cheerful Bee cardtock flower stickers by Heidi Grace designs

July 5-11

What happened this week: This week’s photos mainly came from our trip to Balboa Island.  I also added in a photo from our drive-in movie experience.

Products Used:

1. Sunshine In My Soul journaling cards by One Little Bird designs

2. The Open Road accent Stickers by Crate Paper

3. Spring Bloom Stickers by KaiserCraft

4.  Project Life Dear Lizzy edition

Leave a Reply

