Photoshop: 3 quick tips for enhancing images

Phtoshop Tips (Cover)Hello, hello! Today I wanted to share few of my favorite go-to Photoshop tips.  I use photoshop for editing about 90% of the images I post on this blog (even if they are really minor edits) so it’s one of my staple tools for sure!  I love how even minor editing can make a picture go from GOOD to WOW!  There are super advanced techniques that can be used in photoshop, but they are much more time intensive.  What I want to share today is something that can transform one of your photos in less than 10 minutes.  If you have Photoshop or are considering purchasing it I really hope you find these tips useful!

1. Playing with image settings.  When I first started doing image editing in photoshop I could spend over an hour editing one photo simply because I would take it through every adjustment in the “Image>Adjustments” menu.  I liked to see what everything did.  That playing around definitely worked towards my advantage because now I can get a feel for the adjustments that any photo needs even before I mess around with it.  I would encourage playing around with the adjustments as much as possible to get familiar with what they do.  You’ll be amazed at what these tools can do for your photos.  My first adjustments are usually Levels (to remove dark casts), Brightness (to increase the bright light) and Hue/Saturation (because I love really saturated photos!)

Screen shot 2014-07-08 at 6.51.20 PMBefore plantsAfter plants

2. Using actions.  Actions essentially allow you to click a button and let the program follow a set of commands to apply adjustments.  It’s usually a one-step enhancement that’s been tested many times by whoever created the action.  I love actions for the mere fun of getting a different look.  It gets me to think outside the box of the typical adjustments and embrace a new look for a photo.  The action I used on the photo below came from this Florabella Collection.  Some good actions are really pricey, but if you’re not interested in spending time to make your own adjustments or you just have a TON of photos to edit, this may be a good option for you.  Tou can also create your own actions!Screen shot 2014-07-08 at 6.34.39 PMScreen shot 2014-07-08 at 6.37.21 PMRoller skatin before_after (actions)3. Perhaps your image is a little blurry but it just happens to be your favorite photo in the stack?  Try making the image black and white or raising the offset so it washes the photo out a bit.  The blurriness won’t be as obvious and it might actually enhance a whimsical look. Love this trick!

Screen shot 2014-07-08 at 6.29.13 PMScreen shot 2014-07-08 at 6.29.24 PMBefore and After (offset)

Leave a Reply

