The Fault in Our Stars (Book Review)

Fault in our starsIt’s funny- I bought this book for my brother-in-law for his birthday about a year and a half ago and I remember thinking as I read the cover sleeve that it sounded like a book I would probably really enjoy.  Fast forward to about a week ago and I was asking him if I could borrow it :-)  I’m so happy I did.  This book is incredibly heartfelt, but not to a cheesy degree.  All of the characters are going through major life challenges, whether it’s dealing with cancer, dealing with a loved one having cancer, or dealing with the healing process of cancer.  Knowing this you might think the outlook of the book would be very depressing, but it really isn’t.  I like how the author really didn’t make light of the situation- I mean, how can you?- these are huge battles the characters are going through!  Yet he does bring in humor and hope through the dialogue and genuine love between some of the characters.

There is of course a love story between the main characters, but I equally loved the way that the relationships between the parents and their kids developed.  I felt like that was an integral part of the book.  So many times in young adult books the parents are made out to be the ones that don’t understand.  They are disconnected in their kids’ lives.  However, in this book, the relationship felt genuine and I appreciated that.

Overall, a really great read.  I haven’t seen the movie yet (although I may have seen it by the time this post goes up .  . .) but I would still recommend reading the book even if you’ve seen the movie.  Since the story is told from the main character’s point of view, you really get a special view into her thoughts- and that’s always incredibly difficult to develop in films.

Leave a Reply

