Scrapbooking Essentials

crafting must-haves

Although I could spend full days at a time crafting in my office, sometimes it feels so good to have a change of scenery. I’ve found that when my work is starting to feel monotonous, a change of scenery does a lot to jumpstart my creativity. With that being said, scrapbooking doesn’t always feel like most mobile friendly craft.  However, with a little pre-planning, it is definitely possible to take your work with you.  Here are some of the things that I like to prepare and carry with me when I’m planning for a crafting day away from my desk . . . or even away from the house!

photos

Photos: They are pretty much the backbone of all my layouts or project life spreads. Once I know what I’m going to be using in the way of pictures, I have a better idea of what papers and embellishments will coordinate well.  Here I had printed all the photos I knew I wanted to use in my weekly project life and then a few larger photos that I could use on special layouts.

Paper

Paper:  It’s really hard for me to decide what papers I’m going to use in my crafting, so I actually tend to grab what’s already on my craft table (i.e. my recent favorites) or any items that I’ve been meaning to use for awhile.  An essential for me that I don’t have photographed here is LOTS of white cardstock.  I use it more than any patterned paper.  I’ll also take some specialty paper (like water color paper) if I’m feeling like I want to play around with mixed media.

Mixed Media

Paints & Inks: I try to think ahead to what I will be doing on my layouts and then I start choosing some essentials.  The great thing about mixed media supplies is that they’re so versatile.  You can mix colors and use things in unexpected ways.  I know that as long as I have the basics I can usually get a result I want.  I like to take some acrylic white paint for layering on layouts, some Heidi Swapp misters, watercolors, Prisma Color markers for illustrating, and then some paintbrushes (I can make do with one small, medium, and large brush).

Tools

Tools and Embellishments:  Ah yes, tools are everything!  Sharp scissors, adhesives, a paper trimmer, and a good pen for journaling are great to start with.  I usually have these essential tools on my desk at all times which makes packing them and not forgetting anything a breeze.

So there you have it . . .  doesn’t seem like too many products, right?  I give myself enough variety to keep things interesting, but not too much that I’m taking loads of product with me.  I figure if I can’t fit everything into my one basket then I’m taking too much!   And I’ve never really felt like I’m missing anything, I always seem to find a way to work with what I have :-)  Happy crafting!

 

 

Leave a Reply

