Food Adventure: Banana Bread

ImageDon’t you just love comfort food?  For me it often comes in the form of eating something that reminds me of my childhood . . . and this banana bread definitely reminds me of weekend afternoons when my mom would be in the kitchen preparing 1, 2, (and sometimes 3!) loaves of banana bread to use up all of our too-ripe-to-peel-and-eat bananas.  Mmmm . . . I love the aroma that fills the whole house when this bread is baking in the oven.

ImageMy favorite time to eat this bread is when it’s had a few minutes to cool after coming out of the oven, when it’s still warm enough to melt a little butter on top.  I usually keep it at room temperature the next day and then pop it in the refrigerator, where it can stay pretty fresh for about a week!  I still enjoy the cold bread as a morning snack (second breakfast anyone?) with a little coffee/tea.  Yum!  Hope you enjoy this banana bread as much as I do!

Image

1 cup sugar (granulated) or regular
½ cup shortening
2 eggs
3 bananas (these need to be overly ripe,)
1 tsp soda mashed with bananas
2 cups flour
½ cup walnuts (I prefer mine without)
1 tsp salt

Grease 1 loaf pan;  Bake at 350 degrees for 60 min (sometimes longer); Toothpick in center must come out clean.

Leave a Reply

